Author Topic: Outage - Waterloo, IA  (Read 930 times)

fishcube

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Outage - Waterloo, IA
« on: October 08, 2012, 06:17:13 PM »
Internet out all day....   Have unplugged and replugged and nothing Changing.  Light near bottom is solid orange. 

MediacomTim

  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11942
    • View Profile
Re: Outage - Waterloo, IA
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2012, 06:26:21 PM »
I am currently showing there is a service interruption in the area that we are working to resolve now. As soon as we have an update, I will post it here.

fishcube

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Outage - Waterloo, IA
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2012, 12:46:57 PM »
Service came back late that night, but is now down again???

When will this be fixed? 

MediacomTim

  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11942
    • View Profile
Re: Outage - Waterloo, IA
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2012, 12:52:09 PM »
We are currently experiencing an service interruption that was caused by a fiber cut. Our technicians are currently working to repair the issue.

ImL8

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Outage - Waterloo, IA
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2012, 02:29:56 PM »
When is the expected repair time?  With mediacom providing businesses internet and phone services, your telling me there is not a failover?  No redundancy?  What if I was at home and had to call an ambulance?  I NEVER had as many outages on my phone as I have had since switching to Mediacom.  This outage is having a significant impact on businesses.  I am utterly amazed that you do not have a backup system in place, how can cutting one fiber line bring down a whole city?

MediacomTim

  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11942
    • View Profile
Re: Outage - Waterloo, IA
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2012, 02:31:21 PM »
On average the repair time for a fiber cut is at least 8 hours. This timeframe does not account for any unforeseen delays. As soon as we get any updates, we will post them here.

ImL8

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Outage - Waterloo, IA
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2012, 02:34:36 PM »
What about redundancy?  How can we rely on Mediacom if cutting a cable can take us down for 8 hours in perfect conditions?

ImL8

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Outage - Waterloo, IA
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2012, 02:43:56 PM »
I really would like to know how mediacom will address issues like this in the future.  I need to know, as a customer, that I have a reliable connection.  I want to know, as a IT consultant, that if I recommend Mediacom to a client, that they will have a reliable connection.  We have clients that are pretty much closing shop today because of this outage.  How can I recommend to someone to get Mediacom for their business if there is not redundancy built into your system?