Author Topic: Paying for 20mb, getting 10?  (Read 756 times)

dlwilladsen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Paying for 20mb, getting 10?
« on: March 03, 2012, 04:49:44 PM »
Signed up yesterday for upgrade to 20mb from 12mb.  All speed tests pretty much show 10 to 12mb still.  I've re-cycled modem.  What else to do?

MediacomJames

  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4956
    • View Profile
Re: Paying for 20mb, getting 10?
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2012, 04:56:27 PM »
I will send the provisioning to the modem to see if that clears it up.  There are no signal or utilization issues on the line that should hinder your speeds.

Dupo24

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Paying for 20mb, getting 10?
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2012, 01:01:38 PM »
James, I have also signed up for the Mediacom max. Current speeds look like this and I have cycled modem several times as well. Do I need an update for my modem? Thanks bud!


MediacomDrew

  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 9214
    • View Profile
Re: Paying for 20mb, getting 10?
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2012, 01:15:41 PM »
Dupo, I'm not seeing any other errors that would cause a loss in speeds.  Signals are great and utilization is very low.  How long have you noticed speeds at this level?  Has this just started?

Dupo24

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Paying for 20mb, getting 10?
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2012, 01:22:53 PM »
I very recently signed up for the 20mb service. I have never gotten anything past 12 ever, but the upload is more than doubled from where it used to be. Thanks Much!

MediacomDrew

  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 9214
    • View Profile
Re: Paying for 20mb, getting 10?
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2012, 01:38:32 PM »
I reworked a few things with the provisioning that seemed off.  If you have a router, let's go ahead and reset that by unplugging it for about 30 seconds.  Let me know if this helps out!

Dupo24

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Paying for 20mb, getting 10?
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2012, 06:45:31 PM »
Cycled both the modem and router. Connecting the modem directly to the computer also yields the same measurements.

Dupo24

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Paying for 20mb, getting 10?
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2012, 06:56:44 PM »
I don't know what just happened,but my internet went out for a split second, came back on and this is what I pulled. I guess it's fixed now. Hopefully the router didn't reset and open it up to the neighborhood :) 

MediacomJames

  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4956
    • View Profile
Re: Paying for 20mb, getting 10?
« Reply #8 on: March 04, 2012, 07:01:59 PM »
The router should not have reset.  There was an issue with the provisioning that I was able to fix.  Let me know if there is anything else I can do for you.

Dupo24

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Paying for 20mb, getting 10?
« Reply #9 on: March 04, 2012, 07:05:49 PM »
Not at all, sir, thank you for getting it fixed!

MediacomJames

  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4956
    • View Profile
Re: Paying for 20mb, getting 10?
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2012, 07:06:44 PM »
No problem, I'm happy to help!