Author Topic: Cisco DPC3925  (Read 1125 times)

owl921

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Cisco DPC3925
« on: January 24, 2013, 02:17:13 PM »
I just received a new Cisco DPC3925 at my door. I want to connect it up but am hesitant for fear of some kind of screw up. I purchased it here over the forums and was told I could get help from you with the install. Can someone call me and be on the line to help?
Thanks for your reply.

MediacomBill

  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10531
    • View Profile
Re: Cisco DPC3925
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2013, 02:28:17 PM »
I'll give you a half hour headstart and then provision your modem.

owl921

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Cisco DPC3925
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2013, 03:55:49 PM »
Am currently trying to connect my former netgear gateway modem alongside the new Cisco DPC3925 to keep (create) our wifi signal as per Mediacon Bill's instructions. Not working. Need wi-fi. hmm.

MediacomJustin

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7284
  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
    • View Profile
Re: Cisco DPC3925
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2013, 04:04:00 PM »
The DPC3925 has wired, wireless, and phone functions within it.  You should not need the netgear gateway modem.  Has the new DPC3925 been provisioned?  We'll also need to set the wireless parameters for it.

owl921

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Cisco DPC3925
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2013, 04:26:26 PM »
It is provisioned and working but was told I had to pay for wi-fi. Never had to pay before. Been with Mediacom for many years.
Can we set up wireless parameters?

MediacomBill

  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10531
    • View Profile
Re: Cisco DPC3925
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2013, 04:30:58 PM »
If you are going to use that modem for your wireless there is a $3.95 Home Networking charge.  If you use the wireless router that you already own there is no charge.

owl921

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Cisco DPC3925
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2013, 04:35:14 PM »
Tried to connect the netgear CGD24G to the new DPC3925 without success. I powered it up and connected it to the new cisco. Nothing but some blinking lights. Am I missing something?

MediacomBill

  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10531
    • View Profile
Re: Cisco DPC3925
« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2013, 04:39:27 PM »
Plug it in with the ethernet cord and then power cycle the router.

owl921

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Cisco DPC3925
« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2013, 05:03:54 PM »
Not working. My i pad recognizes and says it is connected via wi-fi but no actual internet is available or working.

MediacomMichael

  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 13658
    • View Profile
Re: Cisco DPC3925
« Reply #9 on: January 24, 2013, 05:10:33 PM »
Can you please explain what you have plugged into the new modem?

owl921

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Cisco DPC3925
« Reply #10 on: January 24, 2013, 05:37:23 PM »
I have nothing now. No internet. Somebody needs to call me I have nothing here. This cisco is not working.

MediacomMichael

  • Mediacom Social Media Relations Team
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 13658
    • View Profile
Re: Cisco DPC3925
« Reply #11 on: January 24, 2013, 05:46:35 PM »
I will have a customer service representative contact you now.